Skip to main content
2023 Shortlist announced


Welcome to the Women’s Prize for Playwriting – the very first prize celebrating and championing female and non-binary playwrights in the UK and Ireland.

About the Prize

The Women’s Prize for Playwriting showcases vivid, expansive and exquisitely crafted new plays by female and non-binary writers in the UK and Ireland.

Each year, the Prize seeks out, celebrates and champions the best new work from writers at all levels of experience. We’re interested in plays that rejoice in the depth and range of your imagination, that feast on dramatic possibility and are ambitious on all scales and subjects.

We’ve designed the criteria of the Prize to allow you to write exactly the play you want, unhampered by restrictions or limitations. Whoever you are, and however much or little you’ve written in the past, the Women’s Prize for Playwriting team wants to read your work. Good luck!


The Women’s Prize for Playwriting 2023

Submissions open

16th January 2023

Submissions close

5pm on Monday
17th April

Longlist announced

late October

Shortlist announced

late November

Finalists announced

mid December

Award ceremony

January 2024

For details on how to submit your play, and entry criteria, see how to enter


by exceptional

leaders in their field

Every year, the final shortlist of scripts is judged by a panel of experts from across theatre, arts and the media, all of whom support the mission of the Women’s Prize for Playwriting.

Arifa Akbar

Jodie Whittaker

Indhu Rubasingham

Artistic Director of Kiln Theatre

Nina Steiger

Winsome Pinnock

Nicola Walker

For further information, please contact
Press enquiries: 

To discuss support for The Women’s Prize for Playwriting, please email